Public Document Pack southend-on-sea city council

Meeting of The Council

Date: Thursday, 18th May, 2023 Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor S Habermel (Chair)

Councillors S Aylen, B Beggs, M Berry, M Borton, H Boyd, K Buck, S Buckley, L Burton, C Campbell, O Cartey, P Collins, J Courtenay, D Cowan, T Cowdrey, T Cox, M Davidson, A Dear, M Dent, F Evans,

N Folkard, D Garston, S George, I Gilbert, J Harland, L Hyde, D Jarvis, A Jones, D Jones, J Lamb, G Leroy, A Line, R Longstaff, R McMullan, J Moyies, C Mulroney, D Nelson, C Nevin, M O'Connor,

D Richardson, K Robinson, M Sadza, M Stafford, M Terry, S Wakefield, C Walker, N Ward, J Warren, P Wexham and

R Woodley

Start/End Time: 6.30 pm - 6.45 pm

9 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor K Murphy.

10 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

11 Motion on Notice

The Worshipful the Mayor had agreed to call this Council meeting following a requisition by 7 Councillors, pursuant to Section 3 of Schedule 12 of the Local Government Act 1972, to consider the two matters referred to in the requisition and the associated motions. The Worshipful the Mayor was satisfied that these matters were legitimate subjects for the Council to debate.

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council that Councillor George has formally submitted his letter of resignation to the Chief Executive as Leader of the Council and therefore it was not necessary to deal with element one relating to the no confidence motion and removal of the Leader.

Therefore, a new Leader of the Council needed to be elected, as provided for in the Constitution.

A named vote was taken for the appointment of Leader of the Council.

For Councillor Cox:

Clir S Aylen, Clir B Beggs, Clir H Boyd, Clir K Buck, Clir S Buckley, Clir C Campbell, Clir O Cartey, Clir J Courtenay, Clir T Cox, Clir M Davidson, Clir A Dear, Clir F Evans, Clir N Folkard, Clir D Garston, Clir S Habermel, Clir J Harland, Clir D Jarvis, Clir D Jones, Clir J Lamb, Clir J Moyies, Clir D Nelson, Clir M Stafford, Clir C Walker, Clir J Warren and Clir R Woodley (25)

For Councillor Cowan:

Cllr M Berry, Cllr M Borton, Cllr L Burton, Cllr D Cowan, Cllr M Dent, Cllr S George, Cllr I Gilbert, Cllr L Hyde, Cllr A Jones, Cllr G Leroy, Cllr A Line, Cllr C Nevin, Cllr M O'Connor, Cllr D Richardson, Cllr K Robinson, Cllr M Sadza (16)

For Councillor Collins:

Cllr P Collins, Cllr R McMullan, Cllr C Mulroney, Cllr P Wexham (4)

Abstentions:

Cllr T Cowdrey, Cllr R Longstaff, Cllr M Terry, Cllr S Wakefield, Cllr N Ward (5)

Absent:

Cllr K Murphy (1)

Resolved:

That Councillor T Cox be appointed Leader of the Council.